The four paths of yoga

Not knowing who we are 2. Clinging to things that are impermanent and having expectations 3. Trying to avoid things that are not real 4. Identifying with the ego and creating separate realities 5.

The four paths of yoga

These four paths of Yoga are aspects of a whole that is called Yoga. The four paths of Yoga work together, like fingers on a hand. Yoga is the preexisting union: Yoga means the realization in direct experience of the preexisting union between the individual consciousness and the universal consciousness.

There are different ways of expressing this, including that Atman is one with Brahman, Jivatman is one with Paramatman, or Shiva and Shakti are one and the same. Each of these ways of saying it come from a different viewing point, while they are not essentially different points of view.

They all point in the same general direction of union or Yoga. Not merely union of body and mind: It has become common to say that this union is merely the union of the physical body and the mind.

The four paths of yoga

This allows both teachers and practitioners to dodge the true meaning of Yoga so as to present it as being something other than a spiritual path such as only physical health or fitness.

It also allows people to avoid any sense of conflict with limited religious views that have no place for such high direct experience. The four paths of Yoga: There are four traditional schools of Yoga, and these are: While a Yogi or Yogini may focus exclusively on one of these approaches to Yoga, that is quite uncommon.

For the vast majority of practitioners of Yoga, a blending of the four traditional types of Yoga is most appropriate. One follows his or her own predisposition in balancing these different forms of Yoga.

Jnana Yoga is the path of knowledge, wisdom, introspection and contemplation.

The 4 Paths of Yoga

It involves deep exploration of the nature our being by systematically exploring and setting aside false identities. Bhakti Yoga is the path of devotion, emotion, love, compassion, and service to God and others. All actions are done in the context of remembering the Divine. Karma Yoga is the path of action, service to others, mindfulness, and remembering the levels of our being while fulfilling our actions or karma in the world.

Raja Yoga is a comprehensive method that emphasizes meditation, while encompassing the whole of Yoga. It directly deals with the encountering and transcending thoughts of the mind. It is popular these days for a teacher or institution to develop some approach to Yoga that "synthesizes" or "integrates" these four paths of Yoga along with other component aspects of Yoga.

However, that is misleading in that they were never really divided in the first place. It is not a matter of pasting together separate units. Rather, they are all a part of the whole which is called Yoga. Virtually all people have a predisposition towards one or the other, and will naturally want to emphasize those practices.

Guide to the 4 paths of Yoga -

Other paths of Yoga: Yoga is traditionally taught orally, rather than organized in books, which naturally are linear in nature, and are clustered into chapters. In oral teachings, there is a natural movement from one to another of the aspects of Yoga, including between the four paths of Yoga.

Books and organization are useful, but we need to remember that Yoga is, in fact, a whole which has different aspects.

The 4 Paths of Yoga | The Chopra Center Gandhi We all want to be happy and lead a life that is free from suffering. Yogic philosophy suggests that the root cause of all of our suffering is a forgetfulness and disconnection with our True Self.

It also explains that the purpose of Hatha Yoga is Raja Yoga. Thus, we can easily see the relationship of Hatha Yoga and Kundalini Yoga as being parts or aspects of Raja Yoga, which is one of the traditional four paths of Yoga.

While it is definitely true that we each have predispositions towards one or another of the four paths of Yoga, we cannot really avoid or abandon the others. While Jnana Yoga deals with knowledge, wisdom, introspection and contemplation, everybody has a mind and at some point will need to examine it, wherein quiet reflection naturally comes.

All people will experience emotions such as love, compassion, and devotion at points along the journey, regardless of which of the four paths of Yoga is predominant.

Nobody can live in a body and the world without doing actions. Even a renunciate living in a Himalayan cave has to do some form of actions, and thus, some degree of Karma Yoga is essential.The Four Paths of Yoga There are four main paths of Yoga - Karma Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Raja Yoga and Jnana Yoga.

Each is suited to a different temperament or approach to life. The four main spiritual paths for God-realization are Karma Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Raja Yoga and Jnana Yoga. Karma Yoga is suitable for a man of active temperament; Bhakti Yoga for a man of devotional temperament; Raja Yoga for a man of mystic temperament; Jnana Yoga for a man of rational and philosophical temperament or enquiry.

Jun 20,  · In this video with lively animation, Sadhguru speaks about the four paths of yoga and tells the story of four yogis who run to an ancient temple to escape the rain.

The Four Paths of Yoga Jnana, Raja, Karma & Bhakti From ancient times, people of the Indian subcontinent have practiced spiritual disciplines designed to clear the mind and support a state of serene, detached awareness.

All four paths lead the yogi to the same destination, towards Nirvana or Moksha – liberation. However, each path is more suitable to a different type of personality. There is no specific boundary between them; no path excludes the other.

Tracey looks at the 4 paths of yoga, described in ancient yogic philosophy as leading us back to our True Self. “The paths are many, but the Truth is One” – M.K. Gandhi We all want to be happy and lead a life that is free from suffering.


Yogic philosophy suggests that the root cause of all of.

The 4 Paths of Yoga